The Pantherette’s State Semi-Final Opponent Has Been Set

Filed under: DISD,Sports |

The Pantherettes will be playing the League City Clear Springs Lady Chargers on Friday at 3:00PM at the Frank Erwin Center on the University of Texas campus in Austin in UIL 5A State Championship semi-finals.

Clear Springs comes in with a season record of 38-2 and ranked #3 in the latest Texas Association of Basketball Coaches poll.

Photo by Ron Byrd –

Photo by Ron Byrd –

Clear Springs is making their first appearance at the state tournament.

Duncanville saw the Lady Chargers up close at the Sandra Meadows Classic this year. Clear Springs was involved in the highest scoring game in girl’s basketball history in the state of Texas when they went into a five-overtime game against Plano West, which Plano West won 107-105.

During this year’s playoffs, the Lady Chargers defeated Ford Bend Kempner (74-73), Port Arthur Memorial (71-59), Manvel (62-60), Houston Bellaire (80-65), and Katy Seven Lakes (55-44).

The Pantherettes are 40-0 for the season and are currently on a 68-game winning streak. The 2013 state playoffs are the Pantherettes 22nd playoff appearance.

Pantherette Coach Cathy Self-Morgan, along with the 2003 Pantherette tournament champion team, will be honored at halftime of the 1A Division II Game, just prior to the 5A State Championship on Saturday.

Members of the 2003 Conference 5A girls’ state Champion Duncanville basketball team included Jessica Henderson, Ashley Nelson, Tammy Bartosh, LaJeana Howard, Jamie Barr, April O’Neal, Rochelle Vance, Jamira Armstrong, Paula Viray, Courtney Cunnigham, Shara Miles, Ray Seago, Richard Perry, (back row) Cathy Self-Morgan, Elesha Walker, Bretange Galbreath, Jessica Stephenson, Courtney McNeal, Jennifer Berry, Chasity McGary, Mariana Mergerson, Tiffany Jackson, Ceren Unal, Destanie Sykes, Morgan Williams.

On the other side of the bracket, Pflugerville #2 (38-0) will be taking on Cibolo Steele #20 (32-5) in the 8:30PM game on Friday.

The winners of both games will meet at 8:30PM on Saturday in the Erwin Center to determine the 2013 State Champion.