Panthers Force Double Overtime Before Falling to DeSoto

Filed under: DISD,Sports |

The Panthers already had one win against the #1 5A team in the state, the DeSoto Eagles. The Panthers downed DeSoto in the finals at the McDonald’s Texas Invitational in Pasadena last November by a score of 52-47.

Heading into Friday night’s game, the loss to the Panthers was the only loss on their 21-1 record, and the Eagles were hoping to avenge the tournament loss. And, for that reason the Eagles were expected to come out aggressive.

panther_basketballBut, the Panthers came out driving the line and forcing plays to take a 14-9 lead at the end of the first quarter. DeSoto made some quick adjustments and outscored the Panthers 19-5 in the second, to take a 28-19 lead into the locker room.

The second half was all Duncanville as they outscored the Eagles by 1 in the third, and 7 in the fourth to tie the game at 51-51 at the end of regulation.

In the first overtime the play slowed significantly as each team only managed 1 bucket each, and that four minute period ended in a 53-53 deadlock.

The second OT saw DeSoto eventually pull away and close out the game for a 62-58 victory.

Leading all scorers was Duncanville’s Jerami Grace, who fouled out in the fourth quarter, with 18 points. Also scoring in double digits for the Panther’s was DJ Wallace with 11, and Omar Sherman scored 10 points.

For DeSoto, Terry Matson scored 17 and Matt Jones scored 12.

These two teams face each other again on February 5th in DeSoto, but Duncanville will next face the #2 team in Texas UIL 5A on Tuesday when they take on the South Grand Prairie Warriors (24-2) at 7:30pm at the Sandra Meadows Arena on the Duncanville High School campus.


1st 2nd 3rd 4th OT OT2 Final
Duncanville Panthers 14 5 10 22 2 5 58
DeSoto Eagles 9 19 9 14 2 9 62

Scoring Stats

Duncanville Panthers DeSoto Eagles
Name Points Name Points
Jerami Grace 18 Terry Mason 17
D.J. Wallace 11 Matt Jones 12
Omar Sherman 10 Julian Green 9
Renard Green 9 Takedrick Brown 7
Matthew McQuaid 6 Tavares Royal 6
Davontae Bailey 2 Darius Jenkins 4
Nassar Issa 2 Devin Wyatt 4
Chris Ortiz 3