Pantherettes Claim 61st Annual Sandra Meadows Classic Championship

Filed under: DISD,Sports |

Pantherettes - Tournament Champions

The Duncanville Pantherettes showed on Thursday night that the one loss on their record was something in the distant past.

That loss came at the hands of Plano West on December 3 by a score of 58-50. In the championship game of the 61st Annual Sandra Meadows Classic the Pantherettes avenged that loss by defeating the Lady Wolves 55-38.

This game was to be a test of the strong Pantherette defense, but Duncanville responded by holding the Lady Wolves to only 9 points in the first quarter. In that quarter, Ariel Atkins had 3 rebounds, 1 block and a steal to lead the defense. However, defense is only part of her game. The sophomore guard also led Pantherette scorers with 6 of their 13 points.

The second quarter saw the Pantherette defense press and slow down the scoring for Plano West, allowing only 7 points in the quarter, scoring 15 points of their own. Five Pantherettes scored in the quarter, Kiara Perry and Atkins with 2 each, Empress Davenport with 3, and Morgan Bolton and Tasia Foman with 4 each. The Pantherettes took a 28-16 lead into the second half.

The third saw Plano West pick up the pace, and their scoring with 15 points in the quarter. But, the Pantherettes can also score points, in bunches. Junior forward Kiara Perry scored 9 in the quarter and Atkins lead on defense with 4 rebounds and a steal to take a 47-31 lead into the final quarter.

The fourth quarter was all about ball control and defense. While the Pantherettes only scored 8 points in the quarter, they held the Lady Wolves to 7 points. Davenport came away with 5 rebounds in the quarter and Atkins had 3 for a team-leading 10 for the game.

For Plano West Kiran Lakhian, Ty Warren, and Randi Reinhardt were named to the All Tournament Team. In addition, Paige Womach was named Outstanding Offensive Player.

Duncanville’s Tasia Foman and University of Arkansas Little Rock signee Morgan Bolton were named All Tournament Team players, with Kiara Perry as the Outstanding Defensive Player and University of Texas signee Empress Davenport named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player.

For a complete rundown of the entire tournament bracket and a complete list of the entire all tournament team you can go to the tournament website at

 2011 All Tournament Team  Silver Bracket Winners – DeSoto  6th Place – Fort Bend Hightower  5th Place – THESA
 3rd Place St. Thomas More (LA)  2nd Place – Plano West  “Fireworks” for the Champions courtesy of Chad Fitzgerald of The Cake Guys  1st Place – Duncanville
 Duncanville coach Cathy Self-Morgan receives the Coaches Trophy from Duncanville Principal Mike Chrietzberg  Lions Club member and Pantherette Alumni Janice Savage-Martin addresses the crowd. “SuperFan” Roland Pals receives a plaque from Tournament Director Steve Martin and Duncanville coach Cathy Self-Morgan  Tournament MVP Empress Davenport and Tournament Director Steve Martin


Name # Fouls 1st Qtr 2nd Qtr 3rd Qtr 4th Qtr Total Points
Kiara Perry 00 3 2 2 9 4 17
Morgan Bolton 10 4 4 4 8
Empress Davenport 11 2 3 3 4 2 12
Ariel Atkins 12 3 6 2 2 10
Kirby Anderson 14 0
Tasia Foman 20 4 2 4 2 8
Alisha Spearman 23 1 0
Destiny Means 33 0
Martisha Bables 41 0
Antiona Robinson 44 0
Shannon Franklin 45 0
17 13 15 19 8 55
Plano West
Name # Fouls 1st Qtr 2nd Qtr 3rd Qtr 4th Qtr Total Points
Marissa Turk 10 0
Grace Horn 11 1 2 2
Devri Owens 13 3 2 1 2 5
Allison Staley 15 3 2 5
Kiran Lakhian 20 3 3 2 5
Paige Womack 21 1 3 4 7
Daniel Turco 22 0
Tyara Cox 23 2 2 4
Sydney Skinner 25 5 5
Mattie Swearingen 33 0
Randi Reinhardt 34 2 2 2 1 5
Lindsey Oh 40 0
10 9 7 15 7 38