Duncanville ISD Names New Leadership Appointees

Filed under: Duncanville ISD,Schools |

Duncanville ISD – The Duncanville ISD recently named the following appointees for leadership positions within the district.

New Chief Technology Officer Introduced

Shawntee’ Cowan was selected to be the district’s Chief Technology Officer. She has served in that position in an interim capacity since September 2017. Ms. Cowan has been with Duncanville ISD since November 2014 and was previously the director of technology.

She has also been an assistant principal, and an elementary school music teacher in Mansfield ISD.

Ms. Cowan received her bachelor’s degree in Elementary Education from Southwestern Assemblies of God University (SWAGU) and her master’s degree in Educational Leadership from Lamar University.

PACE Principal Announced

Tijuana Hudson was announced as only the fourth principal since Smithey PACE High School opened in 1993. She has been a part of the Duncanville ISD family for 17 years. She takes over this new leadership role after serving as assistant principal at Hardin Intermediate School.

Ms. Hudson has previously been a counselor at Duncanville High School and Summit Education Center.

Ms. Hudson earned her bachelor’s degree in Elementary Education from Emporia State University in Kansas and her master’s degree in School Counseling from Texas A&M University.


Reed Principal Returns to Start of Education Career

Bryan Byrd Jr. is the new principal at Reed Middle School. He has been the interim principal at Reed for the past two months. Mr. Byrd had previously been the associate principal of curriculum and instruction at Duncanville High School. He joined the district in 2017 from Arlington ISD, where he had been an assistant principal.

This new role brings Mr. Byrd full circle. He began his teaching career in Duncanville ISD at Reed Middle School. Mr. Byrd earned his bachelor’s degree from Henderson State University in Arkansas and his master’s degree in Educational Administration from the University of North Texas.