Duncanville Chamber of Commerce Awards Banquet and Man & Woman of the Year

Filed under: Chamber |

The community came together to celebrate Duncanville and the leaders that have worked to keep Duncanville as “The City of Champions.”

Michael Courville emceed the Duncanville Chamber of Commerce event, “Remembering the Past, Living in the Present, Looking to the Future.”

Outgoing Chamber Chair and City Councilwoman Janet Harris presented her awards.


Michelle White and Chairwoman Janet Harris

She recognized outgoing board members, Michelle White, Martina Dixon and Jerry Frazier. Special awards were presented to Networkers Chair Michelle White, Business Interchange Chair Glen Carter, Golf Tournament Chairs Don and Jon Pope, and Auction Chair Angie Bilbrey. Michelle White was also presented the Chairman’s Award by Harris.

Nominees for the Pioneer Award were Dale Ward – Farmers Financial, Ben Franklin Apothecary/Kitchens Deli – Janice & Dan Jespersen, Duncanville Lion’s Club, Benjamin Franklin Plumbing – Rick & Jamie Gatto, Methodist Charlton Medical Center – Jonathan Davis, President, and Red Bird Lanes – Lois Cathey. The award was presented to Jonathan Davis, President of Methodist Charlton Hospital

Next was the Chamber Entrepreneur Award and the nominees were Chad Fitzgerald – The Cake Guys, John Touris – Chubby’s Family Restaurant, Monte Anderson – Options Real Estate, Allen Conley – Subways of Duncanville. Winner of the award was Monte Anderson of Options Real Estate.

Nominees for the Chamber Member of the Year Award nominees were John Touris – Chubby’s Family Restaurant, Jim McDonald – State Farm Insurance, Don Pope – Pope Financial Group of Raymond James, Hilton Garden Inn – Kevin Glibert, GM, Methodist Charlton Medical Center – Jonathan Davis, President, and Duncanville Community Theatre – Amy Jackson, Director. The award went to Amy Jackson of the Duncanville Community Theatre.

Chamber Newcomer Award nominees were Keith Bilbrey – KB Media Solutions/MyDuncanville.com, 1-800 Plumber – Clifford Freeney, Principal Manager, and Tommie Rains – Ambit Energy Consultant. Tommie Rains – Ambit Energy Consultant was presented with the Newcomer Award.

Janet Harris was presented a plaque for her work this year by incoming Chamber Chairman Stan Smith.

Rick Jaynes and Dottie Pennebaker, last year’s Man & Woman of the Year, took the stage to present the Man & Woman of the Year candidates.

Dottie Pennebaker first presented the Dara Crabtree, Jeanne Fralicks-Heard, Cathy Self-Morgan, and Natalie Nickerson as the nominees for Woman of the Year


Cathy Self-Morgan and Mike Chrietzberg

Dottie Pennebaker read a letter from the winner’s husband that talked about her expectations for professionalism, and for humility, before presenting the award to Duncanville ISD’s Athletic Director and Pantherette Coach Cathy Self-Morgan. Members of her coaching staff and players surprised Cathy, as she stepped off the stage after accepting the award.

Rick Jaynes next presented Jim McDonald, Monte Anderson, Mike Chrietzberg, Phil McNeeley, and Allen Conley as candidates for Man of the Year.

Jaynes talked about his belief that the Man of the Year should be striving to make a difference and quoted from the winner’s LinkedIn profile, “focused on Family, Job and working to leave this world a better place.” Jaynes presented the winner, Duncanville ISD’s Chief of Staff, Mike Chrietzberg.

The event was sponsored by the Duncanville Chamber of Commerce, AV Pro, Inc., Jaynes Memorial Chapel, 1-800-Plumber, Duncanville Independent School District, and Methodist Charlton Medical Center. With special thanks going to AV Pro, Inc., KB Media Solutions, and the Hilton Garden Inn – Duncanville.