DISD’s 2015 Teacher of the Year Nominees

Filed under: Duncanville ISD,Schools |

Duncanville ISD is proud to announce its 2015 Teacher of the Year nominees. The district participates in the Teacher of the Year competition sponsored by the Texas Association of School Administrators in an effort to recognize excellence and to honor the professional, innovative and effective abilities of all teachers, counselors and librarians.


A total of 24 teachers have been nominated by their respective campuses. These candidates are expected to be skilled and dedicated educators who exemplify excellence in their endeavors. They must inspire learning in students of all backgrounds and abilities. Candidates must have the respect and admiration of students, parents and colleagues. An ideal nominee is an educational leader who has a focus on innovation, creativity and student performance.

Duncanville ISD will select two finalists for Teacher of the Year, one from elementary and one from secondary education. Winners will be announced at the 2015 Duncanville ISD Staff Appreciation Event in the Duncanville High School Alexander Auditorium on Monday, May 18. The reception begins at 6:30 pm; the program starts at 7:00 pm.

Congratulations to this year’s nominees!

Michelle Arnold – Acton Elementary

Tena Walkinshaw – Alexander Elementary

Hans Kocher – Bilhartz Elementary

Kinda Lilly – Brandenburg Intermediate

Tim Forward – Byrd Middle

Meg Goggin – Byrd Middle

Sarah Dickey-Hill – Central Elementary

Tamika King-Jones – Daniel Intermediate

Candace Hawkins – Duncanville High School

Medgar Roberts – Duncanville High School

Keith Spurlock – Duncanville High School

Christina Valderas – Duncanville High School

Diana Lara – Fairmeadows Elementary

Richard Taylor – Hardin Intermediate

Robin Bennett – Hastings Elementary

Jenny McLaughlin – Hyman Elementary

Steven Cain – Kennemer Middle

Stephanie Lee – Kennemer Middle

Sherri Lee – Merrifield Elementary

Pia Surgent – PACE High School

Thomas Webber – Reed Middle

Keffus Wilkerson – Reed Middle

Candace Wilson – Smith Elementary

Sandy Ramos – Summit Center