61st Annual Sandra Meadows Classic Set for December 27-29

Filed under: Sports |

The 61st Annual Sandra Meadows Classic runs December 27-29 at the Sandra Meadows Arena at Duncanville High School. Thirty-two teams from across the metroplex, state, and nation will descend on Duncanville for this prestigious holiday tournament.

Named after long-time Duncanville girl’s basketball coach and Texas Sports Hall of Fame inductee, the Sandra Meadows Classic has become one of the premier tournaments in the nation. College coaches and scouts from across the country come to Duncanville each year to look for the best talent for their programs.

“We have teams that won state titles last year in Westbury Christian, THESA and Louisiana Champions, St. Thomas More,” said Tournament Director Steve Martin

This year’s tournament is bringing in some of the best talent from around the state, and around the nation. The Duncanville Pantherettes are currently ranked #1 in the state and #5 in the nation according to MaxPreps. Also in this year’s tournament is state-ranked Plano West (3), Southlake Carroll (5), and DeSoto (7). From outside the state Little Rock Hall is ranked #6 in Arkansas and St. Thomas More is ranked #4 in Louisiana.

“The competition of this year’s tournament has increased and we will continue to keep the great tradition of the Sandra Meadows Classic as the best holiday tournament for high school girls basketball,” says Martin.

This year’s tournament also sees some of the former winners returning.

“Fort Bend Hightower will return this year to defend their championship. We have other past champions playing in this year’s tournament such as Duncanville, Houston Bellaire, and Houston Westside,” says Martin.

The Duncanville Lions Club has partnered with the City of Duncanville and the Duncanville Independent School District to put on this tournament.

“We are not in this to make money but simply to continue building a great tradition and showcasing the best talent in girls’ basketball,” said Martin.

According to Martin, one of the big attractions to this tournament is that all games are played under one roof.  “This tournament utilizes the arena and two other full-size competition gyms, with seating, so that coaches and fans can come to one location and see every game played.”

Games start at 9AM each day of the tournament, and run throughout the day.

Ticket prices for an all tournament pass is $22 for adults, and $13 for students. A one-day pass, available on Tuesday the 27th, and Wednesday the 28th, are $8 for adults and $5 for students. The one-day pass for championship day, Thursday the 29th, are $10 for adults and $7 for students. Seniors 65 and older receive a $2 discount, with children five and under getting in free.

This year the internet sports network Sportsgram will be carrying the semifinal games at 9AM and 10:30AM December 29 and the tournament championship game at 7:30PM. If you can’t attend the tournament, you can catch the broadcast at www.sportsgram.net.

“Also the bracket on the tournament website at www.sandrameadowsclassic.com will be updated after each game with the box scores for each game,” said Martin.

School National Ranking State Ranking 2011 Record
Atascocita 1996 215 7-8
Amarillo Palo Duro 1015 129 8-3
Bishop Lynch 368 56 11-8
Cinco Ranch 413 65 15-5
Colleyville Heritage 603 99 12-8
Denton Ryan 485 77 15-2
DeSoto 26 7 14-3
Duncanville 5 1 16-1
Flower Mound 523 88 12-6
Ft. Bend Hightower 235 38 16-4
Ft. Bend Kempner 8161 655 3-13
Frisco Liberty 877 113 8-5
Frisco Wakeland 2523 260 11-7
Garland 769 109 8-4
Houston Bellaire 119 22 14-3
Houston Westside 676 103 12-4
John Paul II 266 43 13-5
Kennedale 276 45 13-4
Little Rock Hall, AR 256 *6 6-2
Longview Spring Hill 11638 938 3-12
Mesquite 506 83 10-4
Mesquite Horn 1369 158 8-8
Naaman Forest 1167 140 7-8
Plano West 11 3 15-1
St. Thomas More, LA 243 **4 11-1
Southlake Carroll 16 5 17-0
Temple 297 48 9-4
THESA Riders 191 35 25-4
Trinity 1952 211 10-7
Waxahachie 1287 154 11-5
Westbury Christian 614 101 9-5
Woodlands College Park 1247 149 8-9
* Arkansas
** Lousiana